ABOUT

A Compassionate Approach to Data-Driven Reform
The Deason Center brings a stats and stories approach to criminal justice reform. The Stats: We collect, analyze, and assess the hard data that drive smart, sane, and sensible criminal justice reform. The Stories: We uncover, recount, and amplify the stories of people who live, work, and struggle in our criminal justice system. Together, our Stats and Stories make a compelling case for compassionate criminal justice reform.  Individual stories.  Institutional solutions.

Research
The Deason Center conducts, supports, and disseminates data-driven criminal justice research that has practical implications for criminal justice reform. The Deason Center publishes and promotes criminal justice reform scholarship in academic journals and public policy fora. The Center prioritizes research designs and scholarly projects that have utility across multiple jurisdictions.  The Center also supports and encourages the criminal justice scholarship of SMU Law faculty.

Education
Through conferences, symposia, colloquia, roundtables, and working groups, the Deason Center fosters collaborations between scholars, criminal justice researchers and criminal justice stakeholders.  The Deason Center educates SMU students about criminal justice issues and provides students with academic and experiential opportunities to work in criminal justice policy and reform .

Advocacy
Consistent with its research agenda, the Deason Center helps criminal justice stakeholders develop and implement best practices.  In support of its research and educational mission, and in recognition of the public service obligation that all lawyers owe to the legal system, the Deason Center also provides direct representation that advances a criminal justice reform agenda.

PEOPLE

Pamela Metzger, Director of the Deason Criminal Justice Reform Center

PAMELA R. METZGER

Director of the Deason Criminal Justice Reform Center Professor of Law
PMETZGER@SMU.EDU

Dr. Andrew Davies, Director of Research

DR. ANDREW DAVIES

Director of Research
ALBDAVIES@SMU.EDU

Kenitra Brown, Practitioner-in-Residence

KENITRA BROWN

Practitioner-in-Residence
KENITRA@SMU.EDU

Victoria Smiegocki, Research Project Manager

VICTORIA SMIEGOCKI

Research Project Manager
VSMIEGOCKI@SMU.EDU

Kristin Meeks, Law Fellow

KRISTIN MEEKS

Law Fellow
KMMEEKS@SMU.EDU

Joelyn Crisp, Coordinator

JOELYN CRISP

Coordinator
JCRISP@SMU.EDU

JOHANNAH COUSINS

Consulting Attorney
JCOUSINS@SMU.EDU

Greg Guggenmos, Consulting Statistician

GREG GUGGENMOS

Consulting Statistician
GGUGGENMOS@SMU.EDU

MELANY VARGAS

Research Assistant
MELANYV@SMU.EDU

FACULTY ADVISORY BOARD

Jennifer M. Collins

JENNIFER M. COLLINS

Judge James Noel Dean and Professor of Law
JMC@MAIL.SMU.EDU

Joanna L. Grossman

JOANNA L. GROSSMAN

Ellen K. Solender Endowed Chair in Women and the Law and Professor of
Law
JLGROSSMAN@SMU.EDU

Chris Jenks

CHRIS JENKS

Director of the Criminal Clinic and Associate Professor of Law
CJENKS@MAIL.SMU.EDU

Meghan J. Ryan

MEGHAN J. RYAN

Robert G. Storey Distinguished Faculty Fellow, Gerald J. Ford Research
Fellow, Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor, and Professor of Law
MEGHANRYAN@SMU.EDU

Jenia Iontcheva Turner

JENIA IONTCHEVA TURNER

Amy Abboud Ware Centennial Professor in Criminal Law
JMC@MAIL.SMU.EDU

Bavil Hillel

HILLEL BAVLI

Assistant Professor of Law
HBAVLI@SMU.EDU

Anna Offit

ANNA OFFIT

Assistant Professor of Law
SSRN

Eric Ruben

ERIC RUBEN

Assistant Professor of Law
ERUBEN@SMU.EDU